No Series of Doctor Who in 2016

News broke last night that Steven Moffat is standing down as Doctor Who showrunner and is being replaced by Chris Chibnall.

Nothing massively surprising there. It’s been expected for a while that Moffat is nearing the end of his reign and Chibnall’s name has often been mentioned as a possible successor.

What is surprising though, is some other information that the BBC have announced.

Steven’s final series will air on BBC One in Spring 2017 and there will be a Christmas Special in 2016.

Which means no series of Doctor Who in 2016.

Explaining the decision, BBC One Controller, Charlotte Moore says:

I have decided to schedule Steven’s big finale series in Spring 2017 to bring the nation together for what will be a huge event on the channel. 2016 is spoilt with national moments including the Euros and Olympics and I want to hold something big back for 2017 – I promise it will be worth the wait!

Here at Who News, we’ll be disappointed to see Moffat leave, but look forward to seeing what Chibnall does with the show. But we’re really disappointed to hear that the only new Doctor Who we’ll get this year is the Christmas special.

And here’s a prediction. Series 10 will also be Capaldi’s last series in the role. He will regenerate either at the end of series 10 (with the 2017 Christmas special being the next Doctor’s first episode) or at the end of the Christmas special – leading to a new Doctor in series 11 in 2018.

The Day of the Doctor

The Day of the DoctorThe title of the 50th anniversary special has been announced. It will be called The Day of the Doctor. The programme will be broadcast on 23rd November and will be 75 minutes long. It features Matt Smith, David Tennant, John Hurt, Jenna Coleman and Billie Piper.

The BBC also announced a number of other programmes that will be broadcast on both TV and radio to celebrate the show’s 50th anniversary. Full details are in the press release.

Peter Capaldi

Peter Capaldi

Peter Capaldi is the 12th Doctor

In a special programme broadcast on BBC One, Peter Capaldi has been announced as the 12th Doctor.

Capaldi will take over from the 11th Doctor, Matt Smith, in this year’s Christmas special.

New Doctor To Be Announced

The actor who will play the next Doctor will be announced live on BBC One, tonight at 7pm.

Matt Smith is Leaving

Last night the BBC announced that Matt Smith will be leaving Doctor Who at the end of the year. He will play the Doctor in the 50th anniversary special in November and in this year’s Christmas special – during which the Doctor will regenerate.

It is just over four years since Smith first appeared as the Doctor (in The Eleventh Hour) and since then, he has starred in three series of the programme.

It has previously been confirmed that Jenna-Louise Coleman will be in the next series, so now speculation will start as to who will be her co-star.

Series 7 Finale Title

name-of-the-doctorThe title of the finale for series 7 has been announced by the BBC with the release of the poster for the episode. The title is “The Name of the Doctor”. The poster also reveals that Alex Kingston will be starring in the episode (presumably playing River Song).

Doctor Who Prom

After a break of a couple of years, Doctor Who will be returning to the Proms this year. There will be two Doctor Who Proms – at 19:30 on Saturday 13th July (tickets £14 – £57)and 10:30 on Sunday 14th July (tickets £12). Booking opens on 11th May.

Doctors not in the 50th Anniversary

Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy and Paul McGann have all said that they will not be in the 50th anniversary special. And it’s hard to accuse them of misleading us as the special is currently being filmed and they are in Australia.

Add that to the recent news that Christopher Eccleston won’t be in the special, and it begins to look very much as though it will only feature Matt Smith and David Tennant.

50th Anniversary Trailer

The BBC has published a trailer for the 50th anniversary special. It’s made up of clips from old stories.

Kate Stewart in 50th Anniversary

The BBC have confirmed that Jemma Redgrave will be taking part in the 50th anniversary special. She will be playing Kate Stewart (the daughter of the Brigadier) who was last seen in The Power of Three.